The Hollies Forum Index » Elevated Observation » people you see
graphic
graphic

graphic graphic
Anthony Post subject: people you see
Lead Guitar

Lead Guitar

Hi all,
I was working in the city yesterday when I saw Gerry Marsden walking down the street, it was a bit of a thrill as he was one of the biggest acts in the 60's. Now I wished I had just gone up and said a quick Hi. I bet he could not have walked down the street in Melbourne in the mid 60's.

PostPosted:Thu Sep 13, 2007 21:27 pm
graphic
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Reply with quote Top of page
graphic

graphic graphic
SpartyScott Post subject:
Lead Guitar

Lead Guitar

The day before the failed presidential election of, I guess, 1980, I shook Walter Mondale's hand at a rally. I was a college student at the time.

Yes, as pitiful as it sounds, that's my brush with greatness. Crying or Very sad
PostPosted:Fri Sep 14, 2007 0:13 am
graphic
graphic

graphic graphic
Vrinda Post subject:
Lead Guitar

Lead Guitar

In 1997, I was a junior in high school, and we had to do a research paper on a living American who was making a contribution to their field and to the community. I did Stephen Sondheim, the Broadway composer. We each had to write to the person were were writing about. No one expected to get a response, and our teacher was not going to grade us on that if we did, but some of us did get responses, including me. I got an autographed photo of him, plus a typed card - typed by him - telling me which biographies on him I could use to answer some of the questions I asked in my letter. I still have the autographed photo, somewhere in my closet! That's the closest I got to ever "meeting" a celebrity.
PostPosted:Fri Sep 14, 2007 2:15 am
graphic
View user's profile Visit poster's website Send private message Reply with quote Top of page
graphic

graphic graphic
chig Post subject:
Banjo

Banjo

I have a couple of memories from the 60's.