graphic
Goto page 1, 2  Next
graphic
The Hollies Forum Index » Words and Music » Musical instrument called a recorder - what is it
graphic
graphic

graphic graphic
SpartyScott Post subject: Musical instrument called a recorder - what is it
Lead Guitar

Lead Guitar

I'm not a musician, if you don't count the five chords I know how to play on an acoustic guitar. But that doesn't mean I don't have a keen interest in music, and in how it's made by the pros.

Today in another thread I was reminded of the instrument called a "recorder," as used on the song "Nearer To You."

This is a pretty cool sounding instrument, as that song and Badfinger's masterpiece "Timeless" use it to great effect.

So here's my question, directed at you musician-types: What the heck IS a recorder, what does it look like, how is it played, and all that stuff?

TIA

Scott
PostPosted:Tue Apr 18, 2006 20:45 pm
graphic
graphic

graphic graphic
SpartyScott Post subject:
Lead Guitar

Lead Guitar

And by the way, I hate it when my subject lines get truncated!

Sad
PostPosted:Tue Apr 18, 2006 20:46 pm
graphic
graphic

graphic graphic
DistantLight Post subject:
Rythym Guitar

Rythym Guitar

A recorder is a flute. It's the instruments most young kids start playing (at least in Germany they do). It was the first instrument I've ever learned to play.

It does sound nice on "Nearer To You", I don't kniow the Badfinger song though. One of the greatest uses of this instrument is on "Your Move" by Yes (if that is a recorder and not another kind of flute).
PostPosted:Tue Apr 18, 2006 21:11 pm
graphic
graphic

graphic graphic
Shelley Post subject: What is a Recorder?
Rythym Guitar

Rythym Guitar

If a recorder is what I think it is, then it is a wind instrument, similar looking to an Irish Tin Whistle (I think they are called that!). It's something that most little girls like to play.