graphic
The Hollies Forum Index » Reflections Of A Time Long Past » Another Night
graphic
graphic

graphic graphic
Susie Hewett Post subject: Another Night
Lead Guitar

Lead Guitar

Another Night from 1975 is my all time favourite Album. I am not very good at doing reviews but I'll try anything once. So Here goes.

Another Night -- The title trackis a nice little number although a bit sad and as the chorus goes "Another Night Saturday Night and I'm Losing".

Sandy -- Is a nice little ballad type song written by Bruce Springsteen who once approved of it when he heard The Hollies sing it. It was also released as a single. Sandy is the only song from this album that the band still performs at their concerts.

Lonely Hobo lullaby -- Another nice ballad type song and one of my favourites and with very strong vocals from Allan and nice harmonies from Tony and Terry.

Second Hand Hang Ups -- Is a good song but not their best though.

Time Machine Jive -- This is a great song and my favourite track, I think that it is very catchy. It is sort of a R&R song that I think you would be able to dance to. Bernie does some good piano playing in the instumental part of the song.

I'm Down -- Has some sad lyrics and I did read somewhere that this is why it didn' t sell too well when it was released as a single. But is a good song.

Look out Johnny (There's a monkey on your back) -- A good rock and roll number that would have been good to if it were played at a disco or something.

Give Me Time -- Another nice little ballad and one of my favourite tracks. Allan sounds great and puts some feeling into the song.

You Gave Me Life -- A good song but not one of their best though.

Lucy -- This song is about a woman who is leaving the man and the man asks in The Chorus How am I gonna tell the children that mama's going away Oh Lucy please stay. You can notice that Allan puts some feeling into the song with his nice strong vocals.